Atlas Revolt (ON)

Atlas Revolt

Toronto bassist Bret Higgins leads this juggernaut instrumental sextet to play his deft, smart compositions. Delivered throughout with rock intensity, Atlas Revolt music draws on the sumptuous melodic traditions of Eastern Europe and South America and delivers them in a rhythmically intoxicating context with a flair for the psychedelic and the drama of film-score. The band’s two records, Illusion Machine (2018) and their self-titled debut (2015, on Tzadik Records), are superb, featuring superbly talented Toronto musicians: Bret Higgins (bass and compositions), Aleksander Gajic (violin), Robbie Grunwald (keys), Tom Juhas (guitar), Juan Carlos Medrano (percussion), and Joshua Van Tassel (drums).

Saturday, 14 September, 8pm, Market Square Stage, free

Bret Higgins website
Atlas Revolt bandcamp